Brilliant bubbly: A guide to vegan champagne

Brilliant bubbly: A guide to vegan champagne

Read Time:   |  13th April 2017

Steve King from Gifts International talks us through some of the best champagne brands that are certified vegan-friendly.

Brilliant bubbly: A guide to vegan champagne

We all know that no celebration is complete without a bottle of bubbly. But, when you’re vegan, it can be difficult to identify brands that work with your lifestyle and values. And, worse yet, it isn’t always easy to tell which varieties are vegan-friendly by simply looking at their bottles.

It’s quite common for champagne to be processed using fining agents that include egg whites, milk protein, and gelatin. However, as these are only used during the production process and aren’t technically included in the recipe, they typically aren’t included on the list of ingredients. This is why it isn’t always easy to know whether a particular brand or bottle is suitable for you.

Fortunately, there are certain champagne companies that don’t use animal products at any point in the production process. To help you shop wisely, we’ve put together a list of eight particularly popular vegan champagne brands.

Dom Pérignon

Dom Pérignon champagne is produced using the best grapes grown each year, which means every bottle is exquisite. And, of course, they’re all vegan-friendly.

The brand offers an extensive range of vintage and rosé champagnes — some of which are available in limited edition bottles. So, if you or a loved one have a particularly special event coming up, a bottle of Dom Pérignon would be ideal to celebrate with.

Moët & Chandon

Moët & Chandon has been the world’s most-loved champagne for almost 270 years, and with good reason. It has a beautiful taste, is relatively affordable, and is vegan-friendly to boot.

The brand has confirmed that none of its champagnes are made using animal or egg products. They are also gluten- and wheat-free, which means a bottle of Moët & Chandon is perfect if you or someone you’re celebrating with has special dietary requirements.

Laurent-Perrier

Laurent-Perrier has been producing champagne since 1812, and the brand’s wealth of experience shows in every single bottle. Plus, the production process doesn’t require the use of any animal products, which means every variety the brand offers is vegan-friendly.

Whether you’re celebrating an engagement, birthday, or new year, a bottle of Laurent-Perrier is a fail-safe choice that everyone will enjoy.

Champagne Lanson

If you prefer champagne with a sweet, fruity taste, a bottle from Champagne Lanson will suit you perfectly. The brand’s Black Label Brut Champagne, in particular, offers hints of spring flowers, which is followed by a light, fruity flavour.

As well as having an exquisite taste, every variety from Champagne Lanson is vegan-friendly. The brand has confirmed that no animal products — including eggs and dairy — are used in the production of their champagnes.

Perrier-Jouët (excluding Grand Brut)

Perrier-Jouët began producing champagne in 1811, and has been one of the industry’s biggest names ever since. The brand offers a wide range of different champagnes, including vintage and rosé. But, the best part is that almost all of them are suitable for vegans. Just sidestep the bottles of Grand Brut champagne and you’ll have nothing to worry about!

Taittinger Brut Réserve

Brut Réserve Taittinger is one of the last great champagne houses to remain independent, and it is still actively managed by the family the brand is named after. This means that each bottle has a lot of heart, which is reflected in the fact that every variety the company makes is vegan-friendly. So, if you’re looking for a bottle of champagne that’s been made without the use of animal products, one from Taittinger will be ideal.

Veuve Clicquot Brut Champagne

Veuve Clicquot is one of the most recognisable champagnes in the world, thanks to its iconic yellow label. Each bottle is made using grapes from up to 60 high-quality vineyards, which means they taste absolutely wonderful. Plus, Veuve Clicquot doesn’t use animal or dairy products to make its champagne, so it can be enjoyed by vegans, vegetarians, and meat eaters alike.

Cattier Brut Champagne

Champagne Cattier was founded in 1763, and is still a family-run business. As a result, a great deal of care and attention goes into making each bottle, and it’s no surprise that more than a million bottles are sold each year.

Of course, champagne from Cattier is vegan, too — it wouldn’t have made it on to our list, otherwise. Animal products aren’t used in the recipe, and the brand uses bentonite as a fining agent for its wines. So, when you’re looking for some champagne to toast your next life event or milestone, you can rest assured that a bottle from Champagne Cattier is ideal.

We all know what a minefield it can be when shopping for alcohol that’s also vegan-friendly. So, we hope we’ve taken some of the stress out of your next event with this list of champagnes that will suit your lifestyle and values perfectly.

We use cookies to give you a better experience on veganfoodandliving.com. By continuing to use our site, you are agreeing to the use of cookies as set in our Cookie Policy.

OK, got it