Jammie Dodgers are vegan again following a recipe change in 2020 to remove milk from the ingredients.
British biscuit Jammie Dodgers are vegan following a recipe change in 2020 to remove milk from the ingredients.
In 2016, many were saddened to learn that Jammie Dodgers were no longer suitable for vegans following a recipe change.
The makers of the iconic British biscuit, Burton’s Biscuits, made the decision to add milk protein into the recipe in a bid to “improve flavour and texture”.
Fans were vocal in their disappointment that milk powder had been added to these previously accidentally vegan treats. Many wondered why dairy was being reintroduced when so many companies were taking steps to remove it from their recipes.
Thankfully, Burton’s Biscuits has reformulated the recipe to remove milk from the ingredients and make Jammie Dodgers vegan once again.
Are Jammie Dodgers vegan?
Following a recipe change in 2020, Jammie Dodgers are now suitable for vegans.
The new vegan Jammie Dodgers were rolled out to stores in July 2020 with new packaging after milk protein was removed from the recipe.
Do Jammie Dodgers contain milk?
There’s good news for those with a dairy allergy too as Jammie Dodgers are made on a separate production line from biscuits which do contain milk.
This means that they are completely dairy-free and safe to consume by vegans and those with a milk allergy.
Jammie Dodgers are suitable for people with a dairy allergy as they are made on a dedicated dairy-free production line. Photo © James via Adobe Stock
Jammie Dodger vegan packaging
As well as changing the recipe to make it suitable for vegans, Jammie Dodgers have also given their packaging a vegan makeover too.
The new vegan biscuits are now available in darker-coloured packaging so they can be easily identified on supermarket shelves.
The vegan Jammie Dodger packaging features the slogan: “No Nasty Stuff! We’re Jammie Enough!”
The new vegan-friendly Jammie Dodger biscuits will be packaged in new darker packaging (shown above the old packaging) to make them easy to spot. Photo © Burton's Biscuits (edited by Vegan Food & Living)
Jammie Dodger recipe change
Following the announcement that Jammie Dodgers are vegan once again, fans took to social media to celebrate. One happy fan shared: “THIS HAS MADE MY DAY!”
Another person who clearly missed their Jammie Dodger-fix wrote: “I owe you with my life.”
Speaking about the recipe change in a statement sent to Vegan Food & Living, Kate Needham, Marketing Director at Burtons Biscuits, said: “We have listened to our biscuit fans and are pleased to announce that we’ve moved once again to a dairy-free recipe.
“Family fun is at the Jammie heart of our brand, so it’s important to us that the whole family – and families of all lifestyles – can share a pack. Thanks to the new recipe, we’re happy that will now be more possible.
“But that’s not all, with our household classic seeing a surge in popularity, you can expect to see lots more fun and mischief coming from the UK’s favourite Jammie biscuit brand going forwards! It’s an exciting time to be a Jammie Dodger fan.”
Photo © Vegan Food & Living
Jammie Dodgers ingredients
Are you wondering what’s in your favourite vegan biscuit? Here are the ingredients used to make the new vegan Jammie Dodger biscuits.
Wheat Flour (with Calcium Carbonate, Iron, Niacin and Thiamin), Raspberry Flavoured Apple Jam (27%) (Glucose-Fructose Syrup, Apples (Apple, Preservative (Sodium Metabisulphite)), Sugar, Humectant (Glycerol), Acid (Citric Acid), Acidity Regulator (Sodium Citrates), Flavourings, Colours (Anthocyanins, Annatto), Gelling Agent (Pectin)), Vegetable Oils (Sustainable Palm, Rapeseed), Sugar, Partially Inverted Sugar Syrup, Raising Agents (Ammonium Bicarbonate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Salt, Flavourings.
Mini Jammie Dodgers are vegan but may not be suitable for people with a dairy allergy as they are made on the same production line as products containing milk. Photo © Vegan Food & Living
Are mini Jammie Dodgers vegan?
Good things come in small packages, like Jamie Dodgers Minis which are also vegan.
However, they are made using a different recipe to their larger counterparts as they contain plum jam instead of apple jam.
Although they are suitable for vegans, they are made on the same production line as other products that contain milk so may not be suitable for those with dairy allergies.
If you love vegan biscuits, try these vegan cookie recipes!