Company develops innovative new vegan gelatine to replace gelatine in gummy sweets

Read Time:   |  23rd October 2018

Vegan Food & Living may earn commission from the links on this page, but we only ever share brands that we love and trust.


An innovative new plant-derived alternative to animal-based gelatin for gummy sweets will make its debut at next month’s Supply Side West trade show in Las Vegas.

pea starch gelatine

North America’s largest producer of pea protein PURIS has created an ingenious alternative to animal-derived gelatine, which is typically made from animal bones, using nothing but plants.

The new plant-based product is made from pea starch to replace both animal-derived gelatin and pectin in gummy sweets.

Not only is the company focused on finding plant-based alternatives to animal proteins, PURIS is also focused on sustainability and so has made it its mission to discover ways in which it can maximise all elements of the peas it processes, particularly their protein, fibre, and starch.

pea starch gelatine

Speaking to NutraIngredients-USA about the new ingredient, PURIS President Tyler Lorenzen said: “Pea starch has an interesting functionality. We have shown that it could replace the gelatin in a gummy…now we have shown that we can replace the pectin used in gummies as well.”

Unlike corn starches, pea starch doesn’t tone down the flavour in sweets. In fact, according to Lorenzen, “With pea starch we’ve noticed you get a nice flavour pop.”

Earlier this year, animal agriculture feed supplier Cargill announced its venture agreement with PURIS to expand production of its pea-based protein to meet the growing demand for plant-based foods.

Written by

Vegan Food & Living

Vegan Food & Living is a magazine dedicated to celebrating the vegan lifestyle. Every issue is packed with 75 tasty recipes, plus informative features.

We use cookies to give you a better experience on By continuing to use our site, you are agreeing to the use of cookies as set in our Cookie Policy.

OK, got it